BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
jl82
Calcite | Level 5

I am a relatively novice SAS user (from a background NOT involving experimental research), but have been working over the past several months to fit models involving 5 waves of intervention data for 1000+ individuals, where the intervention is a 2x2 design. I have been using SAS PROC GLIMMIX because of the repeated measures combined with count outcomes. I'm currently working with a negative binomial distribution and the ARMA(1,1) covariance structure (after trying to compare several options). From reading, I had gathered that ddfm=KR is probably the way to go.

I've been having no particular issues up to this point, but we decided to add another covariate to our models, and suddenly I am getting very strange (small) degrees of freedom estimates. This covariate is just a dummy variable. I can get larger (more correct?) degrees of freedom estimates by either (1) maintaining a higher-order interaction term in the model that is not significant (we have been dropping these generally to make the models easier to interpret, since the lower-order effects are of more interest to us and our audience) or (2) dropping that higher-order term AND the new covariate.

Here is a sample of what my syntax currently looks like--

PROC GLIMMIX data=XXX INITGLM MAXLMMUPDATE=500 PCONV=1e-7;

CLASS time subject intervention1 intervention2;

MODEL countoutcome=intervention1|intervention2|time covdummy1|time cov2 covdummy2 covdummy3 cov4 / SOLUTION DIST=negbin DDFM=KR;

RANDOM time / RESIDUAL SUBJECT=subject TYPE=ARMA(1,1);

RUN;

covdummy1*time is n.s. (p=.14) and we'd prefer to drop it (since the two main effects, which are of interest, are n.s. with the interaction in the model). covdummy3 is the new covariate we added.

* Run just like presented above, the denominator dfs for the fixed factors are all > 900 and for the time effects all > 2200. This is also true if I *both* drop covdummy3 and remove the covdummy1*time interaction.