BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Sophie4
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

in order to validate a multivariate logistic regression model, I’d like to perform a bootstrap analysis, which resamples the residuals.

I am a student and new to SAS and have problems with the practical application. I‘ve read some explanations, which only focus on resampling observations not residuals. I did find the following explanation how to resample residuals in linear regression models but I have troubles to adapt it for my logistic model, since I model a probability of an event and not an actual value. Maybe someone could help me to adapt the following code or has other suggestions? I am using SAS 9.3. Any help is highly appreciated.

from http://www2.sas.com/proceedings/forum2007/183-2007.pdf

%let regressors = x;    %let indata = temp1; 

/* 1: perform the regression and get the predicted and residual values */    
proc reg data= &INDATA; 
     model y=&REGRESSORS;
output out=out1 p=yhat r=res;      
run; 

/* 2: split the data: only the residuals will require URS */    
data fit(keep=yhat &REGRESSORS order) resid(keep=res); 
     set out1;      
order+1;      
run; 

/* 3: this doesn’t do any sampling – it copies the FIT data set repeatedly */    
proc surveyselect data=fit out=outfit method=srs samprate=1 rep=1000; run; 

/* 4: this does the WR sampling of residuals for each replicate */   
data outres2; 
     do replicate = 1 to 1000;        
	do order = 1 to numrecs; 
         p = ceil(numrecs * ranuni(394747373));          
set resid nobs=numrecs point=p;          
output;          
end; 
end; 
stop; 
run; 

/* 5: then the randomized residuals are merged with the unrandomized records */    
data prepped; 
     	merge outfit outres2;      
	by replicate order;      
	new_y=yhat+res;      
	run; 

/* 6: the bootstrap process runs on each replicate */    
proc reg data=prepped outest=est1(drop=_:); 
model new_y=&REGRESSORS;      
by replicate;     
run;