BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
saf204
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I am new to SAS. I am running a linear regression with PROC GENMOD that includes a product interaction term between a categorical exposure variable (rank) and a binary subgroup variable.

proc genmod data=data;

class rank(ref=first);

model outcome = rank subgroup rank*subgroup;

run;

I want to see if there is a significant linear trend in the two categories of subgroup separately. I can get the estimates of outcome, but don't know how to do the test for trend. I'd like to do a Wald test so I can control for other covariates. Any suggestions on how to do this? 

Thanks!

2 REPLIES 2
Ksharp
Super User

You want compare the difference of mean in the interaction ?

Check LSMEANS   rank*subgroup  / diff cl control=(rank='1' subgroup='1') ;

or LSMESTIMATE statement.

sld
Rhodochrosite | Level 12 sld
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

I think you actually are wanting an analysis of covariance (ANCOVA)-like model, in which you fit a regression for each level of a categorical predictor. To do that, one of the predictor variables will be a categorical (aka CLASS) variable and another will be a continuous variable.

In your scenario, I would guess that rank should serve as the continuous variable; if so, rank should not be in the CLASS statement. And I would guess that subgroup should serve as the categorical variable; if so, subgroup should be in the CLASS statement.

One parameterization for an ANCOVA-like model is

class subgroup;
model outcome = rank subgroup rank*subgroup;

This model fits a linear regression of outcome on rank for each level of subgroup. The interaction provides a test of H0: slopes equal. If you understand how the categorical variable is coded, you can algebraically compute the intercepts and slopes for the two regressions.

An equivalent parameterization is

class subgroup;
model outcome = subgroup rank*subgroup / noint;