BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
herokid123
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

My name is Brandon and this is my first time posting on here. I am currently trying to overall determine if increased temperatures are leading to increased hospital admissions. I am running my code using SAS software version 9.4 (TS1M4). 

Attached will be the file I am working with, but a little more about what my objective is and my background.

I am trying to create a logistic model which will show the equation for modeling temperatures (the predictor variable) to the number of total hospital admissions (the response variable). Because I have daily counts in my data, years 2009-2015 for every day of the year with such a large sample size, I am assuming that my distribution is poisson (large n, small p). I don't have much background in coding, and this is my first time using SAS, but I know that I am trying to run this using the categorical variable, county (which I believe means it will be reported as a class variable), and using different months. 

I would love assistance in getting the correct output and code so that I can determine if increased temperatures, using average temperatures and max temperatures, are leading to increased hospital admissions in total. Then from there I believe I can investigate if the effect modification from each age and two particular diseases if I have the code for one model. (I believe it is just a matter of changing what the predictor and response variables).

Anyways, here is some of the code I have used thus far, but I get really large scaling estimates so I am not sure if I am running this procedure correctly or not. In addition, I get extremely large Wald Chi-Square values (ranging from 0.11 to 5,000,000).

========================================================================================================

proc import datafile = '\\files\users\bwoudhuysen\Desktop\EDdata.XLSX'
      dbms = XLSX
      replace
      out = churchill;
      sheet = "Churchill";