BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
JohnW_
Calcite | Level 5

Let me start by saying I am new to fitting mixed models, am very excited to learn about them, and feel I have good understanding of the theory behind them (but not the optimization SAS is doing).  I have been building a model in GLIMMIX, with only fixed effects for the time being (hoping to complicate things after binning fixed classification effects).  Everything was going well, and I decided to add a spline (experimental in my version of SAS) for the age variable as follows:

PROC GLIMMIX

DATA = SORTED;

CLASS X1 X2;

EFFECT AgeSpline = SPLINE(Age);

MODEL logPrice = X1 X2 AgeSpline    /

CL

DIST = NORMAL

LINK = IDENTITY

SOLUTION;

RUN;

After fitting the spline, many (but not all?) of the standard errors of my class effect parameters go to 0, leaving me unable to determine which remain significantly different from one another (the non-base level parameters are nonzero).  I have 400K observations and 298 columns in X (many more indicator variables for various classification levels than shown above for simplicity sake), so I do not believe I am fitting to every cell.  The spline appears to have seven parameters associated with it.

I believe my issue may be in understanding how the spline equations work?  Should I be using RANDOM _RESIDUAL_ / TYPE=RSMOOTH instead?  Am I somehow overfitting something using the default spline?

Thank you very much for your help in what I hope isn't a foolish question.

Sincerely,

John W.

4 REPLIES 4
1zmm
Quartz | Level 8

As you describe it, your problem has nothing to do with the spline function.

If you have 298 columns in X [=intercept + # columns to represent X1 + # columns to represent X2 + # columns to represent spline function],