BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
jwg
Calcite | Level 5 jwg
Calcite | Level 5

I am at my wits end trying to find SAS implementations of several standard statistical procedures, having come from the world of R and Python. Can someone please help me? I am trying really hard to appreciate SAS.

How can one do Logistic Regression optimized with a ridge regression, in SAS? According to comments here and here this should already be implemented in SAS with PROC HPGENSELECT. But how? I am new to SAS, having come from the world of R. I am a little disoriented and having a generally hard time finding R-analogues in SAS.

Note: The Newton-Raphson with ridging method implemented in PROC HPGENSELECT, which is implemented "as needed", is probably done for computational reasons when computing the maximum likelihood (especially when there is multicollinearity). I am guessing that the ridge parameter there is really tiny, and for proper ridge regression you want to penalize large coefficients and must be able to tune the ridge parameter to your needs.

7 REPLIES 7
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

I interpret @SteveDenham's response in the previous thread to mean that PROC HPGENSELECT supports the LASSO method for variable selection. I don't think he meant to imply that the procedure has an option for user-controlled ridge regression (the way that PROC REG does).  In other words, I think the sources you linked to claim that HPGENSELECT uses ridge regression internally as part of the LASSO method, not that the ridging method is surfaced to the user.

jwg
Calcite | Level 5 jwg
Calcite | Level 5

The user in the linked thread clearly was asking for an implementation of ridge logistic regression, so your interpretation seems strange to me. I understood @SteveDenham mentioned that this functionality would be bundled in with the Lasso method, since the user was directly asking about *ridge* logistic regression.