BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
pricek
Calcite | Level 5

Hi All,

I am new to SAS so please bear with me.  I am trying to figure out the right statistics model to use for a data set I am working with.

Background:  The data gives a score, on a scale of 0 to 4, of how severe a lesion is for 4 separate areas (regions).  There are 4 different treatment groups.  The treatment group would be the independent variable and the score would be the dependent variable.  Using PROC FREQ each treatment group had a different distribution of scores.

This is what I used for the PROC FREQ

proc freq;

tables trt cage score trt*score region*trt*score/chisq;

We are most interested in the trt*score output but the region*trt*score would be interesting as well.  What we want to find out (and are not sure if we can with proc freq or if we need to use something else) is if there is any significant differences between the score distributions of each treatment group.

We had used and ANOVA and were able to find out this information, however using the ANOVA may be controversial because the data is categorical rather than truly continuous.  Someone had mentioned using a Poisson regression, but I am not sure if that test will be able to answer my question.

If anymore information is needed please let me know.

I am super new to SAS so please detail everything as much as possible.  Thanks for all the help!! (From a super confused girl :smileyconfused:)

3 REPLIES 3
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

This might be a bit daunting for someone new to SAS, but I would suggest you look at PROC GENMOD, which uses a generalized linear model to fit what looks like (to me) a multinomial response.

Perhaps something like (see also Example:39.4 Ordinal Model for Multinomial Data in the documentation for the GENMOD procedure).

proc genmod data=yourdata;

class trt cage region;;

model score = trt cage region trt*cage trt*region cage*region trt*cage*region / dist=multinomial link=cumlogit aggregate type3;