BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
MarkGIP
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everyone!

I am fairly new to SAS. Maybe you could help me with two problems:

1. I am trying to export the quantiles for several consecutive variables with the PROC UNIVARIATE procedure. However, even though I am mentioning all variables in the VAR statement (VAR x1-x200) the output just shows the results for one of the variables. Is there a way to export the quantiles of all variables at once?

2. There are several variables (including the observations) which I would like to sum up. I'm well aware of the SUM function. What I'm looking for is a way in creating n new variables, each a sum of the already existing variables.

In detail: x1= a1+....+a100, x2=a101+...+a200,. .....  a50=a4900+...+a5000

Since I would rather not type in all SUM commands by hand I would be glad if one of you had an idea. I've already thought about arrays abut couldn't think of an appropriate way.

Looking forward to your help! THANK YOU!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

That seems odd--I ran that code on existing data and got all the quantiles for each variable, named as per x1_p30 (30th percentile of x1), x1_p60 (60th percentile of x1), etc.

Unfortunately, I agree that the decimal place thing doesn't work for PROC MEANS, and for PROC UNIVARIATE, it gets complicated with the pctlpts and pctlpre options.  However, I got the following to work quite well, and the variables px12_5, px197_5, px22_5, px297_5, px32_5, px397_5, px42_5, and px497_5 are in the output dataset with labels that look like "the   2.5000 percentile, x1", etc.:

proc univariate data=tryit;

var x1-x4;

output out=checkit2

pctlpts= 2.5 97.5

pctlpre= px1-px4;

run;