BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
KimS
Calcite | Level 5

Running a program under SAS v9.2, a call to proc nlmixed produced in ods  ParameterEstimates  a (theta) probt value of .0527, while under v9.4 gives the value .0528.  Can anyone tell me why? I am a programmer, not a statistician, and have a responsibility to produce results using the same program against the same data that match what was produced before; this looks to me like a formatting change, but I cannot see where/how the format of probt is being set. There are 4 beta parameter probts being set as well, and three of them are also slightly off in the fourth decimal place.  (To me, this does not seem worth bothering about, but my statistician does care.)

Below is the proc statement used.  Can this be fixed?

proc nlmixed data= serotype_alls;

parms lambda=0.1 alpha=-2 theta=1 beta1=1 beta2=1 beta3=1 beta4=1;

model disease ~ binary(lambda /(1+exp(alpha + theta*group + beta1* assayval1 + beta2* assayval2 + beta3* assayval3 + beta4* assayval4 )));

ods output ParameterEstimates=est_alls;

run;

2 REPLIES 2
ballardw
Super User

Algorithms get adjusted between software releases.

Are you running on the exact same machine? Same operating system? Same processors? Hardware can also make a difference with internal memory, rounding and math coprocessor results.

Also did you look to see more digits in the value.

You .0527 may have been .052745123 and the .0528 .052750001 (just examples) So what would be the practical significance of a difference of .0000049 or similar in your analysis?

KimS
Calcite | Level 5

While I appreciate your reply, which confirms what I suspected, I cannot say that it is entirely satisfactory.

The operating system and hardward have not changed in the year since this program last ran on SAS v9.2; or at least it hasn't changed in a way that affects any of the other millions of calculations we do every day.  So I am confiedent that is not a factor.