BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
cp
Calcite | Level 5 cp
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all,

I would like to first thank you all for providing your expert advise and helping us understand SAS better.  I am new with these statistical modeling especially using proc genmod.  My variables are Region (0-9), race (0-3), rates, cases, population and year (1996-2012).

What I want to compare is rates among different racial groups across the regions (so compare 1-2, 1-3, 2-3, etc).  I was told in a SAS class that proc genmod with poisson distribution would be ideal.  We are dealing with not normal surveillance data and rates aren't best with other distributions. We want to control for overdispersion and get Relative Risk and Confidence intervals.  We would like to see the difference over time if possible but I know it may be difficult.  Does the model automatically takes the log or I should first get log and offset that. (data race; set race; Y=cases/population*100000; ln=log(Y); run; and

My model goes like this

proc genmod data=race;

class region race;

model Y=region race / dist=p link=log scale=pearson; (or 2nd model Y=region race / dist=p link=log offset=ln scale=pearson;)

repeated subject=region / type=unstr;

lsmeans region sex / exp cl tdiff e om;

run;

quit;

Thanks CP

3 REPLIES 3
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

My thoughts;

Change Y to cases.  Integer counts of the number of cases.  The offset then would be log(population/100000).  I see 'sex' in the lsmeans statement, but it is not in the model statement, so that will lead to non-execution.

Also, with region having 10 levels, you are estimating 45 parameters with an unstructured covariance matrix.  Using a rule of thumb of at least 10 observations per parameter, you will need a moderate sized dataset.  You may wish to consider a more restrictive covariance matrix--in particular type=ind, which assumes separate variances for each region, and that the regions are independent (well, uncorrelated).