BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Ashwini_uci
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi,

I am working on hierarchical models using PROC GLIMMIX. This is my first time working on this proc.

I tried following code but the log returned an error that says "ERROR: Invalid or missing data."

I am not sure if my code is incorrect ot there is anything missing in the dataset. 

Also, what do Insert in place of n in th e=model statement.

proc glimmix data=  xxxxx ;

class hospid female dm dmcx htn_c  aids alcohol ANEMDEF arth race1   ZIPINC_QRTL hosp_location h_contrl hosp_teach

bldloss chf chrnlung coag depress drug hypothy liver lymph lytes mets neuro obese para perivasc psych pulmcirc renlfail tumor

ulcer valve wghtloss cararrhythmia;

model died/n = female  dm dmcx htn_c aids alcohol ANEMDEF arth race1 ZIPINC_QRTL hosp_location h_contrl hosp_teach

bldloss chf chrnlung coag depress drug hypothy liver lymph lytes mets neuro obese para perivasc psych pulmcirc renlfail tumor

ulcer valve wghtloss cararrhythmia / solution;

random intercept / subject=hospid;

run;

Any help will be greatly appreciate!

Thanks

Ashwini

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

I still think the model is over-parameterized, so that for this particular dataset, there is a quasi-separation problem.

With 26 class variables, assuming they are all binary, you have ( I think) 2 to the 26th power possible cells in a cross-tab.  That is a little over 67 million cells, and with only 400000 (really only 87000) cases, you are bound to have massive numbers of cells with no observations.  Thus, when GLIMMIX is trying to get started, there isn't a way to estimate the variance due to hospid.

You are going to have to attack this in chunks, looking at smaller numbers of independent variables in multiple fits of the data.

Steve Denham

View solution in original post

37 REPLIES 37
SteveDenham