BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hi there,
I am a grad student and using GLIMMIX for the first time (I am normally a JMP girl). I have spent a lot of time reading over the GLIMMIX procedure, SAS for mixed models and this forum but I was wondering if someone would be willing to take a look at my model to make sure that I am asking what I think I am asking?

proc glimmix data=batactivity
Class period date;
Model passespernight = trees_plot period canopy sb_killed Lake Urban2 period*canopy Lake*Urban2 Lake*Urban2 / dist = negbin solution
random date / sub=period type= ARH(1);
random _residual_ ;
run;

I sampled bat activity (overdispersed negative binomial count data) in several bouts (date in my model), in many different sites (not repeated measures) over the summer and had from 1-5 detectors out at any one time. I have specific hypothesis that relate to how bat activity is likely to differ during the early part of the summer vs. late (period in my model). Date is random but period is not. Date should be nested within period. I specified an ARH(1) covariance structure because there is unequal time between sampling bouts and I expect that bat activity from sampling bouts that occur closer together are likely to be more correlated. I have also included some other covariates of interest.

Would it be appropriate to specify a covariance structure for the _residuals_ statement?

Any assistance would be most appreciated; also if anyone could suggest any other reading resources on the topic I would be grateful.

Thanks,
Lea
7 REPLIES 7
reneeharper
SAS Employee
Shmea1: I moved this post to the Statistical Procedures forum where there may be more folks to help with this question.
Susan
Calcite | Level 5
Hi Lea,

I have more questions than answers at the moment.