BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
AlexaS
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, I have a pretty basic question although I am struggling to answer it.  I am new to SAS. I want to carry out a Levene's test and Shapiro Wilk test for variance and normality of some data.  It looks as though the Shapiro Wilk can by done using the Univariate procedure or the Model procedure.  The Univariate seems the more straight forward of the two.  I am having a lot of trouble structuring the data that I want the tests performed on.  To illustrate my question, let's say I have an experiment with two within subject factors, each with two levels.  The dependent variable is performance time to complete a reaction time task.  I have this data collated on a table with four columns: participant_ID, factor_1, factor_2 and Reaction_time.  I have 10 participants.  Each participant has entries on four rows, with a reaction time for each condition/combination of each factor, so "factor_1" can be either "level_1" or "level_2" and "factor_2" can be either "level_1" or "level_2". I want to assess the normality of the 10 participants'' reaction times for each condition, and the equality of variances of the 10 participants' reaction times between the four conditions.  I can't find a simple way to do this.  Can you help? Kind regards, Alexa.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19