BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
njh1109
Calcite | Level 5

I am new to SAS and trying to run a PROC MIXED model. With one dataset, the model runs and gives me full output. For another dataset, the model seems to run, but the output only includes the following: 

- Model Information

- Class Level Information

- Dimensions

- Number of Observations

The rest of the output (i.e., "Iteration History," "Estimated G Matrix," "Estimated G Correlation Matrix," "Covariance Parameter Estimates," etc., etc.) do not show up.

HOWEVER, I am not getting any error or warning messages. 

Any thoughts on what the problem might be? 

Thanks so much!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

It's probaly the case that the spatial power covariance structure won't converge with so many different timepoints spread across the various subjects.  This is probably a very difficult problem, and I don't know if there is a good solution.  You might consider what was done in the documentation for PROC GLIMMIX Example 45.6 Radial Smoothing of Repeated Measures Data, and fit a low rank smoother (a structure not available in PROC MIXED).  What is going to make this difficult is that not all subjects are measured at all timepoints, so convergence may be a problem.  

Steve Denham

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
ballardw
Super User

Since the data was different what differences did you make to the proc call. Output does change depending on options used. Without seeing the code and descriptions of the data used we would be guessing. Such as did your second model have any numeric variables?

njh1109
Calcite | Level 5

Thanks for your reply! Here is the PROC call. I am attaching a file with the Import Data output for both data sets--the one that is NOT working first, and then the one that IS working.

PROC MIXED covtest DATA=IMPORT METHOD= reml cl;
CLASS id;