BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SMATT1
Calcite | Level 5

Hello all,

I am an environmental science graduate student attempting to use PROC GLIMMIX per the suggestion of my statistics professor.  I have a few general questions about using this model due to my pretty underdeveloped stats understanding.

Study Background: I vacuum sampled insects off of 10 walls covered in vines and 10 adjacent blank walls during three separate months last summer.  Study mimics an RBCD.  Single treatment factor has 2 levels-green and not green.  Each site is treated as a block containing both a blank and a green wall. Insect abundance data from the walls follow a non normal distribution and lack equality of variance.  I could solve this with a simple log transformation but was hoping to avoid losing the ability to discuss my original values. Thus the PROC GLIMMIX. An example of my code is shown below involving data from one month of sampling (repeated measures were not used in this study).

dataabundancevisit3;

inputblk trt$ y;

lines;

1g 5.867

1b 0

2g 6.933

2b 0.444

3g 0.8

3b 0

4g 5.2

4b 0.667

5g 56.267

5b 1.333

6g 14.933

6b 0

7g 54.133

7b 0.444

8g 5.026

8b 0

9g 4.8

9b 1.333

10g 11.733

10b 0

;

optionsnocenter;

procprint data=abundancevisit3;

run;

procglimmix data=abundancevisit3;

classtrt blk;

modely=trt/dist=poisson link=log;

randomblk;

lsmeanstrt/cl ilink;

run;

Questions

From output it looks as though my data, or at least my parameters, are being transformed.  Does this limit my ability to talk about my original dataset?  Or is my data left untransformed and only the parameters transformed?  Can I use backtransformed means when discussing results though it is not the same as my original data means?  I guess I just want a simplistic idea of what SAS is doing to my data vs parameters. What is being transformed exactly?