BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
GARYV
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello, 

I am new to data analysis and need help with the following.

I have a survey data summary table where i have results from state and area of that state. I am interested in yes response

It looks like following for each question 

Participants          Yes               C.I                   No           C.I.  

STATE         7450                    88%          83%-93%          12%     10% -14%

Area             668                       82            80%-84%          18%    16% -20%

How do I calculate statistical difference in above two and decide if its statistically significant?

I can do it by calculating yes and no response number from percentages given and do chi square test but it wont give a robust results.

Really appreciate input and help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
GARYV
Fluorite | Level 6

You don't need to perform any statistical calculations. As long as CIs don't overlap, you can conclude that the results are statistically different. In the example in question, the result is statistically significant as CIs don't overlap.That is how governments interpret data. Correct me if I am wrong

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Reeza
Super User

Chi Square is robust...and your N is large enough to obtain reliable estimates.

If you want to explore non-parametric methods, look at PROC NPAR1WAY.

@GARYV wrote:

Hello, 

I am new to data analysis and need help with the following.

I have a survey data summary table where i have results from state and area of that state. I am interested in yes response

It looks like following for each question 

Participants          Yes               C.I                   No           C.I.  

STATE         7450                    88%          83%-93%          12%     10% -14%