BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
lauramb
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi everyone I'm new to SAS so my question may be quite basic:

I have a blood test result (y) that follows the following relationship with a drug concentration (x):

Y = B0 + B1*X**0.5

As I understand this is a linear relationship for the parameters (https://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/statug/63033/HTML/default/viewer.htm#statug_nlin_sect00...) so the regression should be done using a linear regression model.

I have used proc reg but with linear Y functions.

As I understand the code for the linear regression is: 

proc reg data=dataser;
      var X**0.5;
      model Y=X;
   run;

Is that correct?

If I have the data of two groups (patients vs control) how can I compare the regression coefficients for both groups?

Thanks for your help

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

@lbelluscio wrote:

If I have the data of two groups (patients vs control) how can I compare the regression coefficients for both groups?

proc glm data=dataser;
      class group;
      model Y=group x x*group;
quit;

If the variable group is not statistically significant when you perform this regression, then the intercepts of the two groups are not significantly different. If the interaction x*group is not statistically significant when you perform this regression, then the slopes of the two groups are not significantly different.

--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Ksharp
Super User

Add one more data step to get 

data dataser;
set dataser;
X=sqrt(X);
run;
proc reg data=dataser; model Y=X; quit;

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

@lbelluscio wrote:

proc glm data=dataser;
      class group;
      model Y=group x x*group;
quit;