BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
thesasuser
Pyrite | Level 9

Hello
I am a sas programmer and some times do statsitical analysis.

I had studied statistics quite some times back

I intend to revise my fundamentals for inferential statistics particularly ttest, regression analysis and validating regression model, Anova. (I do have a personal copy of Statistics by example by Ron Cody but that in no way serves the purpose, though it is a  very good and useful book.).

Can any body suggest a book where I can properly interpret the result.

For examplle if i am interpreting a proc ttest what does Pr > T stands for OR what shouldbe the appropriate value.

Not looking for indepth mathematics

2 REPLIES 2
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

If you are looking for a good statistics brush-up book (and you already have Ron Cody's at hand), I recommend "Discovering Statistics Using SAS" by Andy Fields and Jeremy Miles.

Otherwise, SAS has a free statistics e-learning course, that would be my no1 choice 🙂

https://support.sas.com/edu/elearning.html?ctry=us 

Ksharp
Super User

Assuming you have a hypothesis H0: a=0  .

Under the condition of hypothesis of H0 was right ,you can get a estimator (E0) for H0 .

P value stands for the probability of  estimator (E) greater than E0 .

If P <0.05 mean there are very few estimator E is greater than E0, which means E0 is very big,therefore you should reject H0.

The criteria of P value is usually set at 0.05

sas-innovate-2024.png

Don't miss out on SAS Innovate - Register now for the FREE Livestream!

Can't make it to Vegas? No problem! Watch our general sessions LIVE or on-demand starting April 17th. Hear from SAS execs, best-selling author Adam Grant, Hot Ones host Sean Evans, top tech journalist Kara Swisher, AI expert Cassie Kozyrkov, and the mind-blowing dance crew iLuminate! Plus, get access to over 20 breakout sessions.

Register now!

What is ANOVA?