BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
copony
Calcite | Level 5

I'm relatively new to the DATA and PROC IMPORT steps of SAS (am more statistics oriented and have not managed importing data into SAS, specifically) and I'm wondering if there is a way to import specific rows into SAS. The problem with my Excel sheets is that they contain a lot of data in rows that I don't need. Also, the first line of the Excel sheet is not a list of variable names (I didn't design these spreadsheets, obviously!).

Specifically, this is what I need to do:

Import cell B2 (this is study ID#) and then import A10, B10 and A11, B11. Then I would like B12 - Y12 (these are time variables) and then B24 - Y24 (the values that correspond to B12-Y12 variables).

Anything in an A cell is a variable, but I don't necessarily NEED it as I could figure out what variable I'm looking at later on.

There are multiple worksheets in each workbook, and I am willing to read each workbook/worksheet in by hand if necessary.

Ordinarily I would run a macro/VBA in Excel to get this info but our security policies are such that we aren't allowed to run macros in Excel or Access!

All suggestions appreciated!9

2 REPLIES 2
user24feb
Barite | Level 11

Something like:

Proc Import Datafile = "C:\Path\XL_FILE.xlsx" /* change path and name */

Out = SAS_XL_File

DBMS = Excel2007 /* .. if it is XL 2007 .. */

Replace;

Getnames=Yes; /* .. the first line will become the variable names */

Range="Sheet1$B12:Y12";  /* don't forget the $ between sheet name and the Excel cells .. */

Run;

jakarman
Barite | Level 11

This is an duplicate question there is also an answer from pgstats

---->-- ja karman --<-----

sas-innovate-2024.png

Don't miss out on SAS Innovate - Register now for the FREE Livestream!