BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
jmdecu
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

I am studying the association between a continuous exposure variable and a dichotomous outcome variable using poisson regression with robust error variance.  (I chose to use poisson regression here as opposed to logistic regression because the outcome prevalence in my sample is quite high - greater than 20%.)  In conducting my analyses, I found a significant interaction between the continuous exposure and a continuous modifier variable.  I would like to calculate the risk ratio when both the exposure and the modifier are increased by 10 units.  I have found examples of how to do this with estimate statements when working with interactions among categorical variables, but I have been unable to find similar examples for continuous by continuous interactions.  What is the appropriate SAS syntax for this scenario?  The code I am using is below:

proc genmod data=test1;

class sex race subject/ ref=first param=ref;

model outcome = exposure*modifier exposure modifier age sex race / dist=poisson link=log type3 wald;

repeated subject=subject / type=unstr;

estimate ???;

run;

Thanks for your help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
lvm
Rhodochrosite | Level 12 lvm
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

For continuous predictors, one puts the values of the predictors in the estimate statement. That is, when one lists x1, for example, the procedure substitutes the estimated parameter for x1; so, you give the x1 value. Here is an example program for what I think you want (using x1 and x2 for continuous predictors and cat for a categorical predictor (class variable). The model is for

ln(mu) = intercept + b1*x1 + b2*x2 + b3*x1*x2

More comments after the code.

proc genmod data=a;

class cat;

model y = x1 x2 x1*x2 cat / type3 dist=poisson ;

estimate '0 0'   int 1  x1 0  x2 0  x1*x2 0;