Programming the statistical procedures from SAS

How to winsorize variables

Regular Contributor

How to winsorize variables

I am trying to use code I found in an old thread to winsorize variables. This code runs w/o error, but the means for the winsorized vars (wvar) are no different than the unwinsorized vars.

There are a few things I don't understand (Questions also embedded in the syntax).

1. What is _n_? What role is it playing?
  2. Are these the winsorized variables (i.e. wvar1  wvar2  wvar3)?
    1. If so, the means are no different than the means of the variables prior to the "winsorization"
  3. How would I interpret this "min(max(val{_V},wlo{_V}),whi{_V});"? I'm confused by all these embedded arrays. I'm a relative beginner w/ SAS.  
  4. Are these the "min" and "max" functions here? What is the purpose of including them here?
proc univariate data=have noprint;
   var var1 var2 var3;
   output out=_testing  pctlpts=10 90  pctlpre=__var1 __var2 __var3;
run;

data want;
  set have;
  if _n_=1 then set _testing ;
* What is _n_? What role is it playing here?; 

array wlo  {*} __ var1_10  __var2_10 __var2_10;
 array whi  {*} __ var1_90  __var2_90 __var2_90;  
 array wval {*} wvar1  wvar2  wvar3;
* Are these the variables that are supposed to contain the winsorized means?
array val {*} var1 var2 var3; do _V=1 to dim(val); wval{_V}=min(max(val{_V},wlo{_V}),whi{_V});
* Any help interpreting this?
* Are these the "min" and "max" functions here? What is the purpose of including them here? end; run;

Thank you very much for all your continued support. It is greatly appreciated. I would be lost w/o this forum. 

Trusted Advisor

Re: How to winsorize variables

[ Edited ]

Hi @jcorroon,