BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
nanosteve
Fluorite | Level 6

Now able to run GLM, I have searched extensively but unsuccessfully for assurance that when all data are normalized GLM runs floating point in double or extended precision. I have not been able to find a clear statement that it does or a way to tell it to do so.

Help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, -nanosteve-

8 REPLIES 8
Reeza
Super User
Interesting question. What do you mean by extended precision?
nanosteve
Fluorite | Level 6
Hi, Reeza! 🙂 Thanks for your own nice question. I'm no expert on the subject, but I gather that extended means beyond double, as in long double and so on; the most I ever used was "double precision" which gets me to e-16. I've seen an ability to say BESTDw.p, but not in association with GLM in particular, and that (if available in GLM) would let me see up to BESTD32.31, it said. But I have not been able to figure out whether it can be used in GLM and, if so, where ... and it applies to output, not to format.
I hope this helps some. I'm stumped. 🙂
Reeza
Super User
I don't know if there's anything beyond this documented:
https://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/lrcon/62955/HTML/default/viewer.htm#a000695157.htm

A key takeaway is it depends on what type of computer SAS is installed on.
nanosteve
Fluorite | Level 6
Good stuff, Reeza. I'm on a 64-bit Windows 10 OS, running 64GB RAM. I'll pursue this in the morning! Thanks very much for your guidance. I hope I find something truly definitive. 🙂
-nanosteve-
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

The document that Reeza linked to is "truly definitive." All SAS procedures do floating-point computations in double precision, which is the standard in the world of numerical analysis.

nanosteve
Fluorite | Level 6
Thanks, Rick_SAS!