BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
yaozhang
Fluorite | Level 6

I am a rookie in the statistics field. Recently I conducted a two sample t-test for a pre/post comparison. There are five data points before and after the intervention. The client wants to know if the occurance of a harmful event reduces after the intervention. The data is pulled retrospectively. 

Although there is an observed 30% event count reduction after the intervention, the p-value for the t-test is .20. The client asked me if there is a way to calculate how much more data we need for the p-value to be lower than .05. We are pretty certain the event reduction trend will continue. 

I know that for a difference between two groups with small sample sizes to be statistically significant, the difference needs to be very large.Is it possible to calculate the smallest sample size and difference required for the p-value to be smaller than .05? How should I approach such a question?  What method I should look into? 

6 REPLIES 6
sld
Rhodochrosite | Level 12 sld
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

The basic methodology is power analysis. This links to a SAS overview 

https://support.sas.com/documentation/onlinedoc/stat/142/intropss.pdf

But before diving into specific details about power analysis...

Does your entire dataset currently consist of 10 observations (5 pre and 5 post)? Are you trying to determine how many more post observations you need to achieve a p value less than 0.05? 

Or do you have multiple subjects, each with 5 pre and 5 post? And are you trying to determine how many more post observations you need to achieve a p value less than 0.05? 

Or are you planning a new study, rather than fishing for significance in the current study?

yaozhang
Fluorite | Level 6

Thanks for your help!