BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Undertow
Calcite | Level 5

Good evening everyone,

I am new to hierarchical logistic regression and would like to have your help on a practical problem.

I need to analyse potential predictors of early recanalisation (dependent variable, binary) in an observational study of 352 patients with acute stroke. Patients had brain imaging and thrombolysis therapy at the nearest stroke center (nearest_center, n=15) and all patients were subsequently transferred to a comprehensive stroke center (comprehensive_center, n=4) to receive endovascular therapy. One important point: sometimes the nearest center was a comprehensive stroke center and secondary transfer was obviously not needed.

I consider using a mixed model to take into account potential heterogeneity across centers. 

When I run a three-level hierarchical model with proc glimmix (level-1 = patient; level-2= nearest center; level-3 = comprehensive center), I have no convergence problem. Here is the code that I used (random intercept model, fixed slopes). Thrombus_length is a continuous variable and fvh is a binary variable:

proc glimmix  method=laplace ; 
    class  comprehensive_center nearest_center fvh (ref='0') ; 
    model  recanalisation_complete (event='1') = thrombus_length fvh  / dist=binary link=logit solution oddsratio ;
    random  intercept  /  subject=comprehensive_center  ; 
    random  intercept  /  subject=nearest_center(comprehensive_center) ; 
    run; 

My first question is: is it correct to use such a model since for some patients the comprehensive center and nearest center are the same ?

I also considered using a simpler model, with two hierarchical levels (level-1=patient; level-2= nearest center):

class  nearest_center fvh (ref='0') ; 
    model  recanalisation_complete (event='1') = thrombus_length fvh  / dist=binary link=logit solution oddsratio ;
    random  intercept  /  subject=nearest_center  ; 
    run;