BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Kaliv-1776
Calcite | Level 5
I'm new to SAS and am trying to recreate a project I made in JMP using SAS. However, I am getting different Chi-Square results that I can not figure out. I'm using HPLogistic, congra technique with a forward selection method. It's fairly straight forward. When reviewing the results, the selection details give me a Chi-Square of 5.9197 whereas JMP states 4.6225. The Chi-Square, also known as the G statistic should be the difference in the -2LL between the full and reduced model. SAS provides the correct numbers for the -2LL which doing the math would net 4.6225. However, the Chi-Square result in the Selection Details states 5.9197. Is there an option I need to invoke to change how SAS calculated the Chi-Square to be in line with JMP? I'm thinking that they are using different DF.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
StatDave
SAS Super FREQ

Yes, HPLOGISTIC (and HPGENSELECT), like PROC LOGISTIC, use the score statistic because doing likelihood ratio tests requires refitting each model which can become very costly (time-consuming) in larger problems, and as you note, the score, Wald, and likelihood ratio tests are asymptotically the same.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
thomp7050
Pyrite | Level 9

It is possible.  What is the proper calculation +/- 1 DF?

thomp7050
Pyrite | Level 9

Also, can you take the variables that belong in the best-fit model, execute the process using only those variables in your model using proc logistic and review the results?  Does it give you different point estimates?

Kaliv-1776
Calcite | Level 5