BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
fernandeze11
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all,

I am a current graduate student finishing up my master's degree, and I've run into a wall with my data analysis. The design of one of my experiments is basically hierarchical, where there are beakers nested in tanks, which are then nested in treatment. In the "Fit model" window of JMP 9, the model is entered as:

Treatment

Tank #[Treatment]& Random

Beaker[Tank #]& Random

This model then provides an output, which is causing me some confusion.

-How is the program calculating the DFDen value in the fixed effect test? What numbers is it using?

-Where can I find the p-values for the random effects (beaker and tank) as well as the fixed effect ?

On a different note, is there a way to get the script for the model in SAS form so I can see exactly what is going on when the program is running the model?

Thanks!

6 REPLIES 6
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

If Beaker is nested within Tank # which is nested within Treatment then your third effect should be Beaker[Tank #, Treatment]& Random.

PG

PG
fernandeze11
Calcite | Level 5

My data also failed the tests for normality (even after transforming the data... should've mentioned that first). As a result, I have to resort to a nested Kruskal-Wilson test... is there a way to do this in JMP, or do I have to write SAS code?

PGStats
Opal | Level 21

How did you do that test (for normality)?

PG
fernandeze11
Calcite | Level 5

I tested for normality both visually and quantitatively. I ran my data through the "distribution" module in JMP, looked at the normal quantile plots and the distribution histogram with a normal curve plotted over it. I tested the goodness of fit using the Shapiro-Wilk.

Transformations I've tried were cube root, square root, and log, as data were right-skewed. Those didn't help.

PGStats
Opal | Level 21