BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
cyanezIBR
Calcite | Level 5

Hi. I am new to SAS and have just started using arrays. I have been trying to calculate a group mean using arrays but when I try to use a function like group by or by it doesn't seem to work. Here is the code I have so far

DATA work.QUERY_FOR_CONCORDIATPT_CLEANED;

SET work.QUERY_FOR_CONCORDIATPT_CLEANED;

array computedgroupfairnessidxtime[3] computedgroupfairnessidxtime1-computedgroupfairnessidxtime3;

array avggroupfairnessidxtime[3];

do i=1 to 3;

avggroupfairnessidxtime= mean(computedgroupfairnessidxtime) ;

group by cycle;

end;

run;

So basically I want it to give me the mean of all the fairness indexes in each cycle (1-6). I hope this makes sense and if anybody can help I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks!

-Christina

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

Your "GROUP BY" syntax is incorrect, also, arrays work across rows, so your average is calculating the average of each row, which in your case is the identical value.

Your best bet is to post an example of the data you have and what you need.

This will "WORK" but I don't think it's what you want:

BY CYCLE;

array computedgroupfairnessidxtime[3] computedgroupfairnessidxtime1-computedgroupfairnessidxtime3;

do i=1 to 3;

end;

run;

I think you actually want proc means instead :

proc means data=QUERY_FOR_CONCORDIATPT_CLEANED;

class cycle;

var computedgroupfairnessidxtime1-computedgroupfairnessidxtime3;

output out=QUERY_FOR_CONCORDIATPT_CLEANED mean= /autoname;

run;

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Reeza
Super User

Your "GROUP BY" syntax is incorrect, also, arrays work across rows, so your average is calculating the average of each row, which in your case is the identical value.

Your best bet is to post an example of the data you have and what you need.