Programming the statistical procedures from SAS

Get confidence intervals of restricted cubic splines nadir value (lowest risk of the predictor)

New Contributor

Get confidence intervals of restricted cubic splines nadir value (lowest risk of the predictor)

I'm studying the association between body mass index (BMI) and mortality in different cohorts. I´ve been running multivariable cox model restricted cubic splines using the macro lgtphcurv9 (https://cdn1.sph.harvard.edu/wp-content/uploads/sites/271/2012/09/lgtphcurv9_7-3-2011.pdf) to plot the association between BMI and mortality, which is u-shaped. I'm interested in the lowest risk BMI value and its 95% confidence interval. To get the lowest risk value, I just went to the output table which provides a long table with all the BMI values and the estimate (HR, which then is plotted in a figure), and record the lowest risk value. However, I'm struggling in getting 95% confidence intervals of this value. 

I understand that doing bootstrapping can be an option to create this 95% CI, but I dont know how to run bootstrapping through this macro...

can anybody help me with this?

thanks

Pablo 

Grand Advisor

Re: Get confidence intervals of restricted cubic splines nadir value (lowest risk of the predictor)

Bootstrapping involves selecting Subsamples and running it through the macro and collecting the parameter estimates. 

Usually I would recommend David Cassells paper - Don't be loopy, but without knowing your macro in detail (I'm not going to read 50+ pages) I'm not sure it can handle BY group processing. If it can, read Davids paper and follow that method otherwise, you can use the method not recommended in his paper, creating a macro that samples, calls the macro and collects the results. 

Super Contributor

Re: Get confidence intervals of restricted cubic splines nadir value (lowest risk of the predictor)