BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
PabloLamelas
Calcite | Level 5

I'm studying the association between body mass index (BMI) and mortality in different cohorts. I´ve been running multivariable cox model restricted cubic splines using the macro lgtphcurv9 (https://cdn1.sph.harvard.edu/wp-content/uploads/sites/271/2012/09/lgtphcurv9_7-3-2011.pdf) to plot the association between BMI and mortality, which is u-shaped. I'm interested in the lowest risk BMI value and its 95% confidence interval. To get the lowest risk value, I just went to the output table which provides a long table with all the BMI values and the estimate (HR, which then is plotted in a figure), and record the lowest risk value. However, I'm struggling in getting 95% confidence intervals of this value. 

I understand that doing bootstrapping can be an option to create this 95% CI, but I dont know how to run bootstrapping through this macro...

can anybody help me with this?

thanks

Pablo 

5 REPLIES 5
Reeza
Super User

Bootstrapping involves selecting Subsamples and running it through the macro and collecting the parameter estimates. 

Usually I would recommend David Cassells paper - Don't be loopy, but without knowing your macro in detail (I'm not going to read 50+ pages) I'm not sure it can handle BY group processing. If it can, read Davids paper and follow that method otherwise, you can use the method not recommended in his paper, creating a macro that samples, calls the macro and collects the results. 

JacobSimonsen
Barite | Level 11

You dont need bootstrapping. The confidence intervals can be calculated with use of the effect-statement, and the PROC PLM, which should be used after running phreg. Its quite easy, as this example shows.

*first generate some data;
data mydata; do i=1 to 10000; bmi=rand('uniform',0,10); time=rand('exponential',exp(-sin(bmi))); output; end; run;