BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
brophymj
Quartz | Level 8

Hi

I work in insurance as an actuary and use SAS for preparing data. I use another software called Emblem to model claims frequency and severity.

I like the flexibility that SAS offers and would like to start doing the modeling work in SAS (which I haven't done before). Basically what I want to do is to be able to create programs that automate much of the tedious box-ticking work that I have to do manually in Emblem so that I can focus more time on the areas that require judgement. I know they can be automated since I spend a significant amount of time making decisions that can be preprogrammed. Before I explain further I have included a very basic example of the kind of dataset I would feed into Emblem (the actual dataset would have 10000s of rows).

Vehicle AgeVehicle ValueMain Driver License TypeExposure (Years)Claim NumbersClaim Amounts
110000Full.500

Prov1.400

Full

310293Full2110000
15934Full1.700
72234Full2.600
1115000Full.32150000
325000Full.500
512300Prov1.300
11200Full2.511200

Emblem is graphically pleasant and is good for inexperienced users who want to learn how to model. It basically lists all the rating factors on the left of the screen (vehicle age, etc.) and when you open the software none of the factors are fitted. You then work through each factor and test the significance of the factor by looking at:

how each level of the factor differs

testing whether the difference is consistent over time

then grouping levels that have similar (not statistically independent) predicted values

and so on

What I want to do is replicate a glim I've done in Emblem as a first step to understand how modeling in SAS is performed and ensuring the method I use produces the same results as in Emblem. Once I am familiar with that I can automate aspects of the program where applicable.