BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
yelena
Fluorite | Level 6

Dear all,

I am new to SAS. I would appreciate it if anyone helps me. I have to write a code that calculates a cross correlation between one fixed variable and 2000 other macro variables and put it all in a table. To do it manually will take a lot of time. How can I create an array of macro variables and then use proc corr command in the loop? Thank you in advance. 

Yelena

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

You can't use arrays in Proc corr. You can specify a variable list.

For example if you use double dashes it includes all variables between the indicated variables. Given your code this is probably what you're looking for:

ods graphics on;
proc corr data=merged_macro2 plots=matrix(histogram);
var v1;
with &list
run;
ods graphics off;

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Reeza
Super User

Please post some sample data and output.

Proc corr allows lists of variables so I'm not sure why you're using a macro. You can avoid listing variables if you have naming conventions. Anyways, we need samples of what you're looking for to help. 

proc corr data=have;
var v1;
with v2 - v2000;
run; 
yelena
Fluorite | Level 6

Thank you, Reeza. My data looks like this:

Date                           v1       rGDP       nGDP

30Sep2000               50        0.5             3.1

31Dec2000                30       2.3             4.5

31Mar2001                20        2.1            1.4

I fix v1 but want to run cross correlation for other macro variables, like real GDP (rGDP), nominal GDP (nGDP), etc. I tried to create a list of variables separately and then use array but for some reason my code does not run. 

data merged_macro2;
set &merged_macro1;
array macro(*) &list;

do i = 1 to dim(macro);
macro(i) = macro(i);
end;
run;

ods graphics on;
var variable(1);