BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
dauphine
Calcite | Level 5

Hi!

I'm new to SAS, and I have a database with over 6000 measurements of arsenic in drinking water wells. Some wells were measured multiple times, and each measurement is a separate row. I want to change this so that there is a single row for each well, with new columns for the additional measurements, like "date2, arsenic2, depth2, address2..." Can anyone help me with the code?

Eventually I want to randomly select 90% of the wells to make a training dataset to build a model predicting arsenic at unmeasured locations. The other 10% of wells will then be used as a validation dataset to see how well the model works. I was thinking of doing this using excel to assign a random number to each well once I get one row per well.

If you've read this far, thanks very much!

6 REPLIES 6
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

I would think at least twice about changing the data structure from long to wide, as when you get to modeling the data, you would just have to change it back to long format if you wish to accommodate the repeated nature.  If you could present the logic for wanting to change to a wide format, I am sure we can accommodate it--I just want to give you a heads-up that the modeling will almost certainly require the data to be in the long format in which it currently resides.

As far as random sampling, SAS is superior to Excel in almost every way I can think of.  It is easy to assign a single random number to each well that is propagated to all records for that well.

Good luck,

Steve Denham

dauphine
Calcite | Level 5

Thanks for the quick reply Steve!

I suppose however I can randomly sample wells, rather than measurements, is fine. The wells don't have ID numbers so far, just latitude and longitude. I was planning to do a geostatistical interpolation (kriging) model in ArcGIS, for starters at least, although I'm no ArcGIS expert either.

ballardw
Super User