BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
PhilaRose
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello SAS Community,

I am new to PROC GLIMMIX and I am struggling with an output interpretation that I assumed would be straightforward.  I have a dataset that is looking at reproductive output of bee colonies (RS).  In my model, I have a treatment effect (trt) and two continuous covariates (cov1 and cov2).  The response variable is lognormally distributed, so I have employed the lognormal distribution in my GLIMMIX procedure (using default link function "id").  My code is below.

proc glimmix order=data data=colony_repro plots = residualpanel;

title 'GLIMMIX for RS w/ cov1 and cov2';

class trt;

model RS = trt cov1 cov2 / dist=lognormal s ddfm = satterthwaite;

lsmeans trt / cl;

The trouble I am having is with my LS MEANS.  I took the outputted LS Means for my treatments and associated 95% CLMS and back-transformed them (10^MEAN).  Looking at the values in their original scale, they do not seem correct, and the 95% CLMs are enormous.

I ran this same model in Proc GLM with the log10-transformed response variable (log10(RS)).  The LS Means are very different and the confidence limits are much smaller.  This leads me to believe that I have either coded something incorrectly or that I am not appropriately interpreting my LS Means output (e.g. it's not correct to apply the back-transformation as I did).

Any thoughts on what I am doing wrong?  Thank you for your time!

3 REPLIES 3
lvm
Rhodochrosite | Level 12 lvm
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

GLIMMIX uses a base-e log, not a base-10 log as the default link with the lognormal. Thus, you would use e^link to get the mean in a data step.You can also get the inverse link directly:

lsmeans trt / ilink cl;

But your text says that you used an 'id' link, which I assume you mean identity. This is not the default, and your model statement would give you the default link. If you actually used an identity link, then you would not have any inverse link to calculate.