BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
D_Scott
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all

I am new to SAS and advanced statistics and am having problems understanding the result that a logistic regression is showing me.

I am doing this work for a job interview and thus desperately need some advice promptly.

I am analysing NFL trends for qualifying to the Play Offs

I would expect a stat called Combined EPA to be heavily correlated with qualifying for the NFL Playoffs.

When Qualifying on the Y axis and Combined EPA on the X axis I get the following result:

Fit Y by X.jpg

This appears to imply that as Combined EPA increases the probability of not qualifying increases, which is the opposite of my hypothesis

However I then plotted the graph with the axes switched and got the following result

Fit Y by X b.jpg

Clearly from this graph teams that qualify have on average a higher Combined EPA then teams that didnt qualify.

Given these 2 graphs could someone please explain to me the correlation in the 1st graph between Not qualifying and a higher Combined EPA?

Thank you in advance for any assistance

D Scott

4 REPLIES 4
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

You are correct to be confused. I understand the second graph. However, the first graph has some unknown continuous variable plotted on the vertical axis.  Notice that there are points with vertical coordinates 0.3 and 0.25, so the vertical graph is not the plot of a dicotomous variable.

Is this output from JMP? Perhaps the JMP user's guide would shed some light on what is being plotted. There is also a dedicated JMP discussion forum at https://communities.sas.com/community/support-communities/jmp_software

lvm
Rhodochrosite | Level 12 lvm
Rhodochrosite | Level 12