BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Annalena
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello everybody.

I have a data set which contains the following variables: date, firm and abnormal return. I attached a sample file.

I want to compute the cross correlation of the returns between the firms at each time stamp and then compute a mean cross correlation for the whole time period. I am a beginner in SAS and guess I need matrix notation but already got stuck on converting my data into a matrix.

Greatly appreciate your help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
StatsMan
SAS Super FREQ

Cross-correlations are computed over multiple time periods (ie. lags) rather than over a single time point.  Also, one typically has a single dependent variable and multiple potential inputs, and a CCF analysis is performed to help you see how correlated other potential inputs are with that dependent variable.

I wonder if a similarity analysis might be more in line with what you need…

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Annalena
Fluorite | Level 6

Yes, I also found this procedure and have tried it but since there is very few explanations on syntax online I don't know how to implement it.

PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

I'm not entirely sure what your desired result looks like here? 

Perhaps like this?

proc sort data= ret.abnormalreturn out=abnormalreturn;
   by date;
run;

proc transpose data=abnormalreturn out=abnormalreturn_wide(drop=date);
    by date;
    id firm;
    var ar;
run;

ods select PearsonCorr;
proc corr data=abnormalreturn_wide noprob outp=OutCorr
          nomiss;
var _numeric_;
run;
Annalena
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi draycut,

i'm not sure if this does what i want since i need to calculate cross correlation and not only correlations.

I figured something out this morning and not sure if this is correct:

proc sort data=WORK.abnormalreturn out=WORK.SORTTempTableSorted;