BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Is there a test in SAS that compares two medians? I am looking for the equivalent of PROC TTEST, but with medians instead of means.

Thanks.

--
Paige Miller
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

I'm not an expert, but I believe that the Mann-Whitney (aka, Wilcoxon-Mann-Whitney or just Wilcoxon) test is generally used as an alternative to a t test when the data are not normally distributed. The Mann-Whitney test is commonly regarded as a test of population medians, but this is technically only true if the two populations have the same shape and one is a "translation" (or shift) of the other. If the populations have different scales and shape, the M-W test will detect that as well, which tends to muddy the results.

You might want to create box plots of the two groups. If the boxes are approximately the same size and shape, but one is offset from the other, then an M-W test would be a way to test whether the medians are different.

For an introduction to nonparametric tests, including how to perform a M-W test by using PROC NPAR1WAY, see http://analytics.ncsu.edu/sesug/2004/TU04-Pappas.pdf

View solution in original post

25 REPLIES 25
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

Look at the MEDIAN test available in NPAR1WAY.

PG

PG
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

It was always my understanding that the median test in PROC NPAR1WAY was a non-parametric test of means, not of medians.

--
Paige Miller
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

The mean is never mentioned in the definition of the test. My experience is that this test isn't very powerful which might explain why it is so rarely used. - PG

PG
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Arthur Tabachneck wrote:

You can also use proc freq.  Take a look at http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/statug/63033/HTML/default/viewer.htm#statug_intronpar_se...