BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Steelers_In_DC
Barite | Level 11

I am a statistics student.  For this project I will have to use WEKA software but I thought it was a good opportunity to learn some new sas as well.  I'll be working in BASE SAS, SAS/STAT. 

I have a dataset with 130 college courses over 5 years and 448 students.   I would like to find concentrations of classes in groups of 3 or 4 to recommend concentrations. 

I'm looking for some ideas to start and I will continue the research on my own.  Is K-Means the right approach for something with this many values?

Cheers,

Mark

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

As I said, you can change the distance metric or change the clustering method. With my example above, I get three clusters when I add option R=0.55 to proc modeclus.

PG

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

What you describe is not that many values... for SAS. What is the role of years in your data? Are your groups classes that should be taken on the same year? What about students that took them on different years?

PG
Steelers_In_DC
Barite | Level 11

The reason I mentioned the number of values is because I just had another project dealing with the Iris dataset, so this seems like a lot. 

I have a trend analysis showing classes that have low to zero enrollment over time, but for this exercise the time is irrelevant.  If I can look at it over time I will, but I don't think that would be in my deliverable. 

My goal is to find classes, in groups of 3 or 4, that are common among students.  I will be recommending the school initiate minors with these concentrations.  Year over year is irrelevent.  They would not have to be taken in anytime frame or any order (no prerequisites). 

Steelers_In_DC
Barite | Level 11