BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
JanetSultana
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

I’m trying to compare sex distributions among different data collection centres using the chi squared (chisq) option in SAS (9.2) but there are different numbers of observations for every data collection centre, which the resulting cross-tabs can’t account for.  I’m still a beginner in statistics in SAS, but the only procedure that I know of which allows you to account for unequal sample sizes is proc anova (lines statement) and this is not the right test for this comparison. Would anyone be kind enough to share their insight on this?  Thank you!

The following code creates an example of my data.

DATA example;

INFILE datalines;

INPUT centre_A centre_B centre_C centre_D centre_E;

DATALINES;

1 1 0 1 1

0 0 0 1 0

0 0 0 1 0

0 1 1 0 0

1 1 1 1 1

1 1 0 1 .

1 0 0 . .

1 0 . . .

1 1 . . .

0 0 . . .

0 1 . . .

;

run;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

Assuming that 0-1 values are about sex and not knowing what individuals in an observation (line) have in common, I would suppose you could run the following Chi-square test to see if the sex ratio varies among centers:

DATA example;
INFILE datalines;
INPUT centre_1 - centre_5;
obs = _n_;
DATALINES;
1 1 0 1 1
0 0 0 1 0
0 0 0 1 0
0 1 1 0 0
1 1 1 1 1
1 1 0 1 .
1 0 0 . .
1 0 . . .
1 1 . . .
0 0 . . .
0 1 . . .
;

proc transpose data=example out=exList;
var centre_1 - centre_5;
by obs;
run;

proc freq data=exList;
table _name_*col1 / chisq;
run;
PG

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

Assuming that 0-1 values are about sex and not knowing what individuals in an observation (line) have in common, I would suppose you could run the following Chi-square test to see if the sex ratio varies among centers:

DATA example;
INFILE datalines;
INPUT centre_1 - centre_5;
obs = _n_;
DATALINES;