BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
JulieM
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi, I need help in analyzing my count data (number of green leaves at maturity) measured from an experiment laid out in RCB with variety as a fixed factor and rep as a random factor. I know I need to run this in GLIMMIX but don't know how to go about analyzing this type of dataset with lots of zero values. I took a shot at using a negative binomial distribution, but the model did not converge (note log message: Pseudo-likelihood update fails in outer iteration 33). I then included method=laplace in the GLIMMIX statement, and this time the model converged but no estimates were given for the SE of the covariance parameters (not sure how to interpret that). I am a bit groping in the dark here as it's my first time to analyze such data in GLIMMIX.

I included here the SAS code that I used, a sample data and the distribution of my data for your reference.

Any help would be highly appreciated!

Proc GLIMMIX data= CountData plots=StudentPanel MAXLMMUPDATE=1000 MAXOPT=1000 ABSPCONV=.0000001 
method=laplace; class Rep var; model response = var /dist=negbin; random Rep; lsmeans var /CL ILINK; run;

Glf_Mat.png

5 REPLIES 5
Ksharp
Super User

Did you try Zero-Inflated Models ?

JulieM
Obsidian | Level 7

I wanted to, but don't know how to program it in GLIMMIX 😞

Ksharp
Super User

Could you switch it into proc genmod ?

JacobSimonsen
Barite | Level 11

Maybe, it is not unlikely that there will be many zero-values even if data comes from a Poisson distribution. The random effect will do that in many groups the expected value can be very low.

Changing to Poisson will increase chance for convergence alot, as the problem most likely is that the model has difficulties with distinguish the variance in the neg-bin distribution from the variance from the random effect.