BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Jub
Calcite | Level 5 Jub
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner in the use of Propensity Score (PS) and I have several question regarding analysis to perform on PS matched sample. I have performed a matching using PS and I have now my matched sample (I have checked the distribution of my covariates). My outcomes of interest are either continuous or categorical variables. I have read that a simple way of doing is to perform proc ttest (paired) for continuous variable others argue that for binary variable a conditional logistic regression is needed (using strata in proc logistic). In that case do I need to include in my model PS as a variable of adjustment or am I zm getting all wrong? I used the SAS macro %psmulti_patch

Is this macro using "optimal matching" method ?

Thak you very much in advance,

5 REPLIES 5
JacobSimonsen
Barite | Level 11

If you have binary outcome, then I will aggree that stratified logistic regressino is a good apprach.

Lets say you have a variable STRATA which define the groups from your matching.

Then you can make the analysis by proc logistic

proc logistic data=mydata;

class exposure;

model outcome(event='1')=exposure;

strata STRATA;

run;

or you, in case you dont want to adjust for any other variables, then you can also use the simpler mantel haenzel statistics;

proc freq data=mydata;

table STRATA*outcome*exposure/cmh noprint;

run;

which should give almost same OR estimate as the conditional logistic regression.

Jub
Calcite | Level 5 Jub
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you very much for your quick reply !

In the option strata i put the variable the group of each match?

For continous variables, what should I use in case I want to adjust for other variables?

Many thanks

JacobSimonsen
Barite | Level 11

Yes, the STRATA variable is the one determing the groups defined by your matchning.

If you have contionous variable and only few matching-groups, then you can adjust for the strata variable