BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
janetgrad
Calcite | Level 5

Hello, I am a beginner with SAS, and I am a graduate student who is stuck on a data analysis problem. I have 2 sets of data. Both sets are in a 2x2 design. I have four treatments that I am comparing, with 3 repititions. I previously ran the repeated measure ANOVA, but I am supposed to find the replication interaction.

My data looks like this-What is the input to compare the 4 treatment Salmonella count while also assessing if the 3 replications had an impact? I have another set of data with the same set up, but instead of salmonella count, the result is a positive or negative. My question is if I ran multiple Fisher tests, is there a way to assess the impact of the replication?

Treatment   Rep     Egg Number    Salmonella Count

1                  1                        1                         3.2 Log CFU/mL

1                    2                      1                         2

1                   3                        1                         3

2                  1                       1                            3

2                     2                       1                        2.2

2                     3                      1                         1

3                    1

3                    2

3                    3

4                   1

4                  2

4                  3

5 REPLIES 5
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

"replication interaction"?

Normally, replication is treated as a RANDOM effect, and so it doesn't interact with other things. You would get an estimate of the variability due to replication, combined across all four of your treatments.

So, if that's what you want, then try the following (untested code)

proc glm;
    class treatment;
    model salmonella = treatment;
run;
quit;

The error sum of squares is the variability sum of squares due to the replication. If it is small, then the replication has caused little variability in your data.