BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
sas1018
Fluorite | Level 6

hi I am new to sas preparing for certification.Can somebody help me with the below program:

Create 3 groups for Cvar:A-G is group=1;H-N is group=2;o-z is group=3.

All variations of the variables should be in the same group i.e "A" or "a" should be in group=1.

Calculate the average of X and Y by group.

My question is :Do i need to create new variables X and Y to calculate average?

7 REPLIES 7
ballardw
Super User

Existing data.

Show us what you have.

Better would be to use a small example and then the desired result for the given example.

Instructions here: https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Communities-Library/How-to-create-a-data-step-version-of-your-dat... will show how to turn an existing SAS data set into data step code that can be pasted into a forum code box using the <> icon or attached as text to show exactly what you have and that we can test code against.

"Groups" of values within a single variable can often be done with custom format applied to the variable in a reporting or summarizing procedure.

Also, do you need a data set for output (for further analysis) or a report (people read these).

Details: does your CVAR only have one character or is it longer? Is the group based on a single variable or multiple (which is why we ask you to show an example of your data).

sas1018
Fluorite | Level 6
Hi

I have attached my program file below.

Thank you.
ballardw
Super User

Don't see any values or even variables X and Y in your program. Anywhere. So where are the values of X and Y supposed to come from. To be a "mean" there needs to be at least one numeric value to make sense of the question.

sas1018
Fluorite | Level 6

Thank you. Got the solution with the X and Y variables.They were already in another dataset. I thought I need to create one.Thanks a lot.

Kurt_Bremser
Super User