BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
kthartma
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi everyone,

I am new to SAS studio (3.4) and having some issues understanding how to use proc means for several data sets or if this is possible.

I have 5 SAS data sets in my library (different years of data for the same variables).

I want to conduct proc means for a few continuous variables for each data set and output it in a way that shows each variable's descriptive stats (N, Mean, Median, 10th and 90th percentile, max, min) by year (each data set). 

Any advice would be much appreciated. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Concatenate the 5 datasets into one, using PROC APPEND, or a datastep.

Then run PROC MEANS using the BY statement to create analyses for each year.

In the future, do not break these data sets up by years, keep them together.

--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Concatenate the 5 datasets into one, using PROC APPEND, or a datastep.

Then run PROC MEANS using the BY statement to create analyses for each year.

In the future, do not break these data sets up by years, keep them together.

--
Paige Miller
kthartma
Fluorite | Level 6
Thank you for the guidance!
Reeza
Super User

@kthartma wrote:

Hi everyone,

I am new to SAS studio (3.4) and having some issues understanding how to use proc means for several data sets or if this is possible.

I have 5 SAS data sets in my library (different years of data for the same variables).

I want to conduct proc means for a few continuous variables for each data set and output it in a way that shows each variable's descriptive stats (N, Mean, Median, 10th and 90th percentile, max, min) by year (each data set). 

Any advice would be much appreciated.