BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
I am new to SAS , could you please explain me What is the Base Different between SAS Program and Macro ?

What is the Best Place in the web to get some beginners info for SAS Programing.

Thanks
Oramcle
2 REPLIES 2
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
Here's a good reference on SAS Macros and what they are:
http://www2.sas.com/proceedings/sugi28/056-28.pdf

For SAS programming, you'll want to look at many of the beginner tutorials and papers written for various user group meetings and the SAS Global Forum (a Google search on "SAS Programming Beginner" should net you some useful papers.

As for the difference between a SAS Program and a SAS Macro program -- generally, you build your SAS Macro programs from working SAS programs. Consider the following program, composed of 3 steps:
[pre]
ods listing;
proc print data=sashelp.class(obs=5);
title "SASHELP.CLASS";
run;

proc print data=sashelp.shoes(obs=5);
title "SASHELP.SHOES";
run;

proc print data=sashelp.prdsale(obs=5);
title "SASHELP.PRDSALE";
run;
[/pre]

The above program is composed of 3 PROC PRINT steps. Pretty much everything is the same in all 3 steps except for the name of the data= option and the name of the dataset in the SAS title.

So, what if there was a way to get SAS to TYPE the 3 PROC PRINT steps for me??? The SAS Macro Facility will do just that.

Using the SAS Macro facility I can write and then invoke a macro program that can generate a single statement or a whole step or a whole series of steps. First I have to have a working SAS program, so I understand where the macro facility can be used. Then I use that working SAS program as the basis to define my Macro program:
[pre]
%macro prtdata(lib=, dsn=, obsno=5);
%let lib = %upcase(&lib);
%let dsn = %upcase(&dsn);
proc print data=&lib..&dsn(obs=&obsno);
title "&lib..&dsn";
run;
%mend prtdata;
[/pre]