BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
ins_dev
Calcite | Level 5

Hello everyone,

I am pretty new to sas programming and I am kind of stuck trying to move two variables as outfile-directory.

What I'm trying to do is filling up the filename of my exported text file with the last month and the current year.

So if someone runs the sas programme today the filename would be "filename-10-2014.txt"

I already have a code snippet which does work. But what it does, is inserting the whole current date into the filename:

%let Datum = &SYSDATE9;

export data=SASUSER.GEBDATUM

outfile= "X:\filename-&Datum..txt"

dbms=tab

replace;

Delimiter=';';

putnames=no;

;

Now I am trying to format the Date by splitting it up to a month and a year variable. Here is the complete code:

data datum;

Datum = &SYSDATE9;

Monat = MONTH(Datum);

Premonat =;

If Monat = '1' then Premonat = '12'; else Premonat = (Monat-1);

Jahr = YEAR(Datum);

%let mmyyyy = cat(-,Premonat,Jahr);

run;

export data=SASUSER.GEBDATUM

outfile= "X:\filename-&monat&mmyyyy..txt"

dbms=tab

replace;

Delimiter=';';

putnames=no;

run;

Here is the important part of the log:

NOTE: 9405 records were written to the file 'X:\filename-cat(-,Premonat,Jahr).txt'

So it does know that &mmyyyy is a variable within the code, but it does not transport the logic nor the value behind it.

What am I doing wrong here? What can I do to transport the values from the data step to my export procedure?

In the data step output my values are correct (Datum: 20047, Monat: 11, Premonat: 10, Jahr: 2014;)

Many thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

I like to handle such problems with a data _null_ step:

data _null_;

datum = intnx('month',date(),-1);

call symput('mmyyyy',put(month(datum),z2.)!!put(year(datum),z4.));

run;

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Kurt_Bremser
Super User