BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
epigrad123
Calcite | Level 5

This question might be fairly straight forward but I am new to SAS so I do not know how to execute this.

I have a dataset based on encounter level data for clinic visits. At each encounter, a person had various information collected. There are people with multiple encounters in the dataset and I would like to transpose the long encouter-based data to wide individual-based data (each individual has an spefific ID). However, I have about 50 variables per encounter (again, a lot of information was collected). From my research, proc transpose seems to only handle one variable at a time? Also, I would like a way to label the transposed information by visit number, based off visit date. Thus I would want to see question1_visit1 rather than question1_11-24-2010 and also have a way to see the date of the visit (i.e. have a date_visit1 column with the date). I imagine I will have to do this all in several steps, since the visit number wont be known until the data is transposed. If anyone can atleast point me in the right direction I would be thankful.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

You asked two different questions. 

First to generate a VISIT number you could just use a simple data step with a BY statement.  Reset the counter to zero when you start a new patient and increment it when you see a new date to indiciate a new visit.  

data new ;
   set have ;
   by id date ;
   if first.id then visit=0;
   if first.date then visit+1;
run;

You can find hundreds of posts on transposing data.  One way is the double transpose.  First to convert your data in name/value pairs and then another to convert it back into columns.

proc tranpose data=new out=middle ;
   by id visit ;
   var date field1 field2 .... ;
run;

proc transpose data=middle out=want ;
   by id ;