BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
metalray
Calcite | Level 5
Hello,

I am very new to SAS and just go through the SQL training and did not quite get the difference between tables or views created through SAS SQL "Create TABLE" and data sets/files created in the data step that holds actual data, or a SAS data view, a data set that references data that is stored elsewhere.

Which ones would you use when (situation)...?

Thanks for clarification
13 REPLIES 13
Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12
CREATE TABLE creates the same SAS dataset that a DATA step might. Ditto the views.

Which to use is often a function of other parts of your computing environment and whether your data are dynamic or static. Views take longer to process, but use less disk space. A view is updated whenever the underlying table is updated, so you don't have to re-run some program.
metalray
Calcite | Level 5
I see. Thanks for explaining. In SAS SQL the "CREATE TABLE" does create a dataset.

I assume that the dataset creation is helpful when using MS excel as a source or text files, while CREATE TABLE can be used to replicate data as a SAS dataset that can be retrieved from relational data sources.

why would one replicate data as a SAS dataset when it is already in relationsl data sources?
Patrick
Opal | Level 21
"why would one replicate data as a SAS dataset when it is already in relationsl data sources?"

It's most often about data aggregation or denormalisation and not simple replication. Whether to store such aggregated data/a data mart as a table or not depends most of the time whether it is used more than once (storage requirements vs. performance).

About views: Think of a SQL view as nothing else than hidden SQL code which gets executed whenever you access the view (the same is also true for a SAS data step view).

I.e:

proc sql;
describe view sashelp.vstable;
quit;
will show you the SQL code executed when you access the view sashelp.vstable

data view=....
describe;
run;