BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
disguy
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I'm new to SAS and after doing a lot of searching, I can't seem to get some simple data operations to work.

Given a dataset, I want to replace certain data entries systematically. My document contains several unwanted entries with the string "DQ" and I want to replace them in the data step with missing values ".". The problem is, I get errors and I suspect it has to do because the "DQ" entries are given for both numerical and categorical variables. I have tried three different approaches, and all of them have yielded errors that my data is invalid still. Note: when I used the 'replace all' function in notepad and ran the data, I had no "invalid data" problems.

To show my approaches, let "categorical" and "numerical" be my variables.

Approach #1:

numerical = .;

replace all var{numerical} where(numerical = "DQ);

categorical = ".";

replace all var{categorical} where(categorical = "DQ");

Approach #2:

if numerical = "DQ" then numerical = .;

if categorical = "DQ" then categorical = ".";

Approach #3:

numerical = tranwrd(numerical, "DQ", .);

categorical=tranwrd(categorical, "DQ", ".");

Is there something fundamentally wrong with my approach? Even though I distinguish between "." and . without quotations - I have not been able to successfully run the data. I run SAS remotely, so I cannot view the data from within the program; the log simply informs me of the errors. Thanks in advance.

5 REPLIES 5
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

Approach 2 is almost it. Try this way:

if LEFT(numerical) = "DQ" then numerical = "";

if LEFT(categorical) = "DQ" then categorical = "";

PG

PG
disguy
Calcite | Level 5

Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately, it did not work (same issues as before).

When the log lists the data values for each variable, it shows that the values have been changed to "." - as desired (and also as with the methods I listed in my original post).