Help using Base SAS procedures

PROC GLM Error Message

Accepted Solution Solved
Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Accepted Solution

PROC GLM Error Message

Hey everybody,

 

I'm writing my first post to ask for your help. Indeed, I have no problem using "proc" in all my exercises but with "PROC GLM", it never works. I tried with different files. It is always written: "ERROR: Invalid characters were present in the data.". I don't understand because  I'm a student and it's a file used by many other students and they don't have any problem. 

 

 

I send you a screenshot and my code.

 

Have a nice day,

Simon.

 

SAS version :9.04.01M5P09132017

 

My SAS code :

DATA entree ; 
INFILE '/folders/myfolders/sasuser.v94/Répétition 6/R6_01.csv' FIRSTOBS=2 DLM=";" DSD ; 
INPUT QI Age Score ; 
PROC PRINT DATA=entree ; 
RUN ; 
ODS GRAPHICS OFF ; 
PROC GLM DATA=entree ; 
MODEL Score = Age QI ; 
RUN ;
PROC REG DATA=entree ; 
MODEL Score = Age QI ; 
RUN ;
PROC GLM DATA=entree ; 
MODEL Score = QI Age ; 
RUN ;
 

Capture d’écran 2018-04-09 à 10.05.33.png

 


Accepted Solutions
Solution
‎04-10-2018 03:32 AM
Super User
Posts: 10,278

Re: PROC GLM Error Message

It's not the data, and it's not your code (I ran your code successfully against your data on SAS 9.4M5 on AIX from EG 7.15), but it might be a language problem between your SAS UE, your environment and your browser:

https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Analytics-U/PROC-ANOVA-ERROR-invalid-characters-were-present-in-t...

This was the first hit of a search for

"sas ERROR: Invalid characters were present in the data."

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Maxims of Maximally Efficient SAS Programmers
How to convert datasets to data steps
How to post code

View solution in original post


All Replies
Super User
Posts: 10,278

Re: PROC GLM Error Message

Please provide a sample of your file R6_01.csv, so we can test your code with your data.

As posted, I cannot see any problem.

And also post all log text, from the first data step that imports the csv down to the error. See https://communities.sas.com/t5/help/faqpage/faq-category-id/posting#posting for posting code & log text.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Maxims of Maximally Efficient SAS Programmers
How to convert datasets to data steps
How to post code
New Contributor
Posts: 3

Re: PROC GLM Error Message

Posted in reply to KurtBremser

 

here is the information you need :

 

 1          OPTIONS NONOTES NOSTIMER NOSOURCE NOSYNTAXCHECK;
 NOTE: les instructions ODS dans l'environnement SAS Studio risquent de désactiver certaines fonctionnalités de sortie.
 73         
 74         DATA entree ;
 75         INFILE '/folders/myfolders/sasuser.v94/Répétition 6/R6_01.csv' FIRSTOBS=2 DLM=";" DSD ;
 76         INPUT QI Age Score ;
 
 NOTE: The infile '/folders/myfolders/sasuser.v94/Répétition 6/R6_01.csv' is:
       Nom du fichier=/folders/myfolders/sasuser.v94/Répétition 6/R6_01.csv,
       Nom du propriétaire=sasdemo,Nom du groupe=sas,
       Autorisation d'accès=-rw-rw-r--,
       Modifié(e) le=29 mars 2018 16 h 18,
       Taille de fichier (octets)=410
 
 NOTE: 29 records were read from the infile '/folders/myfolders/sasuser.v94/Répétition 6/R6_01.csv'.
       The minimum record length was 11.
       The maximum record length was 12.
 NOTE: The data set WORK.ENTREE has 29 observations and 3 variables.
 NOTE: DATA statement used (Total process time):
       real time           0.00 seconds
       cpu time            0.01 seconds
       
 
 77         PROC PRINT DATA=entree ;
 78         RUN ;
 
 NOTE: There were 29 observations read from the data set WORK.ENTREE.
 NOTE: PROCEDURE PRINT used (Total process time):
       real time           0.06 seconds
       cpu time            0.07 seconds
       
 
 79         ODS GRAPHICS OFF ;
 80         PROC GLM DATA=entree ;
 81         MODEL Score = Age QI ;
 82         RUN ;
 
 ERROR: Invalid characters were present in the data.
 ERROR: Une erreur s'est produite lors du traitement des données texte.
 ERROR: Invalid characters were present in the data.
 NOTE: The SAS System stopped processing this step because of errors.
 NOTE: PROCEDURE GLM used (Total process time):
       real time           0.05 seconds
       cpu time            0.05 seconds
       
 83         
 
 
 84         PROC REG DATA=entree ;
 85         MODEL Score = Age QI ;
 86         RUN ;
 
 87         
 
 NOTE: PROCEDURE REG used (Total process time):
       real time           0.08 seconds
       cpu time            0.08 seconds
       
 
 88         PROC GLM DATA=entree ;
 89         MODEL Score = QI Age ;
 90         RUN ;
 
 ERROR: Invalid characters were present in the data.
 ERROR: Une erreur s'est produite lors du traitement des données texte.
 ERROR: Invalid characters were present in the data.
 NOTE: The SAS System stopped processing this step because of errors.
 NOTE: PROCEDURE GLM used (Total process time):
       real time           0.05 seconds
       cpu time            0.04 seconds
       
 91         
 92         
 93         OPTIONS NONOTES NOSTIMER NOSOURCE NOSYNTAXCHECK;
 106        
Solution
‎04-10-2018 03:32 AM
Super User
Posts: 10,278

Re: PROC GLM Error Message

It's not the data, and it's not your code (I ran your code successfully against your data on SAS 9.4M5 on AIX from EG 7.15), but it might be a language problem between your SAS UE, your environment and your browser:

https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Analytics-U/PROC-ANOVA-ERROR-invalid-characters-were-present-in-t...

This was the first hit of a search for

"sas ERROR: Invalid characters were present in the data."

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Maxims of Maximally Efficient SAS Programmers
How to convert datasets to data steps
How to post code
New Contributor
Posts: 3

Re: PROC GLM Error Message

Posted in reply to KurtBremser

I changed my browser langage into English and it works great.

 

You made my day ! Thank you KurtBremser 

Super User
Posts: 10,278

Re: PROC GLM Error Message


@juill wrote:

I changed my browser langage into English and it works great.

 

You made my day ! Thank you KurtBremser 


Mind that I did not know the solution, I just used Google. See my Maxim #6.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Maxims of Maximally Efficient SAS Programmers
How to convert datasets to data steps
How to post code
☑ This topic is solved.

Need further help from the community? Please ask a new question.

Discussion stats
  • 5 replies
  • 181 views
  • 1 like
  • 2 in conversation