BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
KevinC_
Fluorite | Level 6
Hello,

How do I import a password protected Excel document? My proc imports works fine any non-password protected excel doc. I tried adding 'password = ' to the code below, but got an error with the password= option. Any input will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

proc import out= ssn1
datafile= "&Ssn_FILE"
dbms=EXCEL replace;
mixed = yes;
sheet= "Sheet1";
run;
8 REPLIES 8
ArtC
Rhodochrosite | Level 12
Shows what I know. I did not even know that an Excel file could be password protected.

Have you tried passing the password through the PIPE engine on the FILENAME statement? That is just a guess.
Ksharp
Super User
Hi .
Maybe you need build a ODBC connection for that xls file,because SAS treat Excel file as a library,but it is too troubled.Or recommend you to use password to open that Excel file and File-> Save as->xls file to make a xls file without password.

Ksharp
Oleg_L
Obsidian | Level 7
I'm not an expert in VBA but you can use MS Excel programming language (VBA) and PIPE engine to disable the password protection.
The code below sets the password. I'm not the author of this code. I've find it somewhere and It was very helpful as a solution of some tasks in different modifications. For example, I've modified it to rename Excel sheets.
You can change the VBA code to disable password protection.

[pre]
filename IN '.\book1.xls';
filename OUT '.\book1PW.xls';
%let PW = PWvalue;
data _null_;
length script filevar command workbook1 workbook2 $256 pw $16;
script = catx('\',pathname('WORK'),'PASSWORD.vbs');
filevar = script; workbook1 = pathname('in');
workbook2 = pathname('out');
pw = symget('PW');
file dummy1 filevar=filevar;
put 'Const ' workbook1=$quote256.;
put 'Const ' workbook2=$quote256.;
put 'Const ' pw=$quote18.;
put 'Set objExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")';
put 'objExcel.Visible = FALSE';
put 'objExcel.DisplayAlerts = FALSE';
put 'Set objWorkbook = objExcel.Workbooks.Open(workbook1)';